Different format to document after reinstalling

bjabers 09:43 11 Jul 07

I should be very grateful for someone's help! I have had to purchase a new computer and therefore had to reinstall everything. I have been working on my family history for many years and having made previous backups of my important Microsoft Word documents (including my family history), I find that when launching Word on my new computer and importing my family history document, it has changed all the formatting which means certain parts have been carried over to another (new) page. Having looked through all the help index in Word and tried various formatting tabs, I have no idea how to change this back to my original formatting and shall be very grateful if someone could help me please.

Diodorus Siculus 10:13 11 Jul 07

Ensure that the paper size is the same now as it was when the document was created - often it will default to "letter" rather than A4 for example.

Taff™ 10:19 11 Jul 07

Also check that the margins haven`t been changed. Try tweaking them slightly and see if the document resets itself.

bjabers 10:33 11 Jul 07

Thank you both for your replies. Diodorus Siculus, I have followed your suggestion and this has worked. Taff™, your suggestion has also helped. However, I have just discovered that all the fonts I had saved from my previous computer have not been imported, therefore the font I was using has not been recognised and it has used the nearest one, which is completely different!! Do you have any suggestions how I might recover the missing fonts? Thanks once again ...

Simsy 10:34 11 Jul 07

"importing my family history document"... What exactly do you meant by "importing"?

Did you copy/paste the content of the original into a new document? If so, it is likely that what you've experienced will happen.

Or have you opened the actual, original document in the new computer? If so I'm not sure why this would have happened.