Dialers - can they be stopped?

graham√ 13:33 05 Jun 03

Recent threads concerning 'dialers' prompts me to ask if they can be stopped.

As I understand it from sites such as click here , they will drop your internet connection and then dial a premium rate number, the aim being to generate revenue from the call.

The 'dialer' is often installed as a program, so it can do its dirty work at random, unknown to the owner of the PC.

Will a firewall stop them? Will Ad-aware or Spybot find them?

Nick 13:51 05 Jun 03

Am I right in thinking that a dialler cannot dial out on my NTL cable broadband as it is not actually connected to the telephone line or is that just wishful thinking on my part?

graham√ 14:00 05 Jun 03

I'm no expert, but it could be only those on dial-up (56k or ISDN), that are vulnerable.

fitshase 14:04 05 Jun 03

You cannot "Dial out" on your cable broadband as it does not go out via a telephone line.

This is only a problem of dial-up accounts (i.e., accouts that dial a phone number to access the internet).

Regards

Fitshase

p.s., in response to the original question, our I.T guy at work made a login script to stop any additions to the dial up networking accounts. I think that this might be exclusively for a server/workstation relationship as we have to login to the network.

-pops- 14:34 05 Jun 03

Slight variant on Nick's question.

I have a 56K modem fitted which I use for Fax. If one of these dialers downloads into my machine from broadband, is it then able to connect to base via my analogue modem at vast cost? If it is, how will I know it is doing it before I get my phone bill?

This is only hypothetical, but may be a cause for concern.

Brian

fitshase 14:40 05 Jun 03

As far as I can gather, it cannot instigate itself and dial of it's own accord. When people on a dial up use the internet, they are confronted by a dial up box.

This box contains the name of the connection (e.g., Freeserve, Blueyonder, etc.) a user name and a password.