Dell Power LED Flashing Amber

dellnovice 09:49 15 Oct 07

Hi

After doing nothing out of the ordinary on my Dell Dimension 5000 Desktop.. i went to startup and the power LED is flashing amber and the PC is not booting up. My tech support book says this means it is an internal power problem.

Does this mean I should buy a new PSU and replace?

I am a complete novice to laymans terms would help lol.

Thanks in advance

brundle 10:11 15 Oct 07

It could be one of several components;

Switch off machine, disconnect anything you have plugged in that is not necessary (eg just leave mouse, keyboard and monitor plugged in), try the machine then.
If successful then the PSU itself might be failing, if you can get into Windows check your hard-drive for issues; click here

dellnovice 13:10 15 Oct 07

thanks for that..

if it is the PSU where should I buy one and (as someone who has never opened up a computer!)should I take it to a shop to replace?

brundle 16:26 15 Oct 07

Some Dell machines used non-standard power supplies, I don't think that is the case any more but check very very carefully that the wire colours to the motherboard connector match on any new PSU you buy, compared to your old one. Replacing it isn't difficult.

Service book; click here

If you're not using a top-of-the-range graphics card, this looks quite a decent bit of kit;
click here

Take your old one out and double check against a PSU at Maplin or similar first

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 18:03 15 Oct 07

If renewing a PSU check:

1. The physical size of your PSU, some are hard to replace due to being a non standard size.
2. The amount of power need from the PSU don't skimp

1. Physical Dimensions

Besides the specs and form factors, the physical dimensions are also important factors in selecting a compatible power supply. Here is an outline of the physical dimensions of most standard power supplies:

# ATX: 6x3.5x5.5", HxWxD. Most common. Uses 4 mounting screws.