Deleted Photos

BURGMAN02 13:59 18 Aug 03

Can I recover photos I mistakenly deleted?

Are there any free programs to do this?

Any help gratefully received.

Confab 14:05 18 Aug 03

Yes you can recover them click here

Jester2K II 14:10 18 Aug 03

Free - download and copy to floppy on another PC (to avoid overwriting your deleted data)

click here

BURGMAN02 14:10 18 Aug 03

Thanks Confab - I'll try it now.

BURGMAN02 17:52 18 Aug 03

Confab and Jester2K II - very many thanks for your very smart responses to my problem. It seems the data HAS been overwritten and therefore lost.

I am relatively new to computers and at 71 years of age, I don't think my brain functions as of days of yore!

Anyway, the world hasn't come to an end and I have learnt something really useful this afternoon if only to be more careful with my pics in future. And it is a little humbling to have you good people so ready and willing with help. Bless you both.

User-312386 17:55 18 Aug 03

why did you not tell BURGMAN02 about Fast file undelete?

GANDALF <|:-)> 18:03 18 Aug 03

If you have Goback you will be able to select a date and time previous to the deletion.

jakedawe 19:21 18 Aug 03

Where were they deleted from? You may not have lost them completely. Are they pics from a Digital Camera, if so, were they taken on a Card which you have deleted them from?

The Sack 20:37 18 Aug 03

FWIW you can get a 100% free file recovery program if you click here

wee eddie 21:03 18 Aug 03

If the photos were on your Hard Drive, it is most/very/quite unlikely that they have been overwritten unless you have written a novel since you deleted them.

If they were in the camera memory, almost anything you have done will have removed them.

Give Jester2K II's suggestion a whirl.

BURGMAN02 22:07 19 Aug 03

A million thanks to all you lovely people for your help.