Delete from Recovery disk D

  taskmaster 16:04 06 May 09
Locked

It seems I inadvertantly allowed a backup to the hard drive partition "D Recovery". Is this why I keep getting message that Disk D is full? Can I risk deleting any files that should not be on that disk? If so, what should I leave untouched?
Thanks for any help.

  johndrew 16:47 06 May 09

You should be able to delete the backup file(s) provided you can identify it/them positively. If you used Acronis, this will be simple but for any other backup software it may prove more difficult.

A simpler method may be to go to the manufacturers web site and determine (perhaps via their Help Forum - if they have one) what files constitute the `D: Recovery` partition normally and delete any others that are present. I would hope the essential files in D: for recovery would be `Read Only`.

Failing that back the whole partition up onto an external HDD and then delete those files you believe to be the backups. That way you have a copy in the event you get it wrong.

  Fruit Bat /\0/\ 18:09 06 May 09

Check the file dates for a clue as to wich ones to delete.

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

Surface Pro 5 News - release date, UK price, features, specs

Gear VR vs. Daydream: Which delivers the best VR experience?

iPad Pro 12.9 vs Surface Pro 5