//some 3rd party need geo

Dead Computer - Please Help!

Scotwolf 00:33 23 Oct 03

Hi,

I am a complete novice at computers and i could really do with some help. Earlier on this evening, i powered off my PC to go and have dinner. When i came back an hour later, the PC wouldn't switch on. When i press the 'On' button, all that happens is the fan goes round and nothing else...

What could this be? Please help a novice user to understand the problem...

Thanks,
Jacqui

woody 01:06 23 Oct 03

Is the hard drive working- trying to load?
Is the monitor plugged in - has the cable come loose?

Djohn 01:11 23 Oct 03

The first thing to do is, turn off the power at the wall switch but leave the lead connected to your PC. Then have a look at the back of the PC, make sure all the cables are plugged in, if necessary, remove and replace each one.

Turn the power back on and press the power button on the front of your PC. If it does not put a display on the screen but seems to start, listen for a beep sound and how many.

Please post back to this thread and let us know how you get on and what happens when you do the above. j.

Scotwolf 01:12 23 Oct 03

There is nothing...i don't even get the single beep before the monitor display comes on. The monitor light is also on orange and not green...

Sorry for not sounding technical... :(

Djohn 01:23 23 Oct 03

That orange light means that the monitor is plugged in and on standby, but not receiving a signal from the PC tower unit.

Do you still here the fan running, and is it the fan at the rear of the PC? Do any lights on the tower unit come on at all, even for a brief moment? Can you press the button on the CD tray, and does it open/close? Put the flat of your hand at the rear of the PC and see if you can feel air being blown out. Please post back with this information. j.

Djohn 01:54 23 Oct 03