DDR and an old computer

pigseattruffles 23:51 07 Jul 04

OK basically my nans computer is getting so slow its untrue. It ran win98 and then i upgraded it to winXP cause she prefers the better interface.I was wondering could I just slap in any DDR or do i have to get a specific type? Also do I need two of them or just the one.I was considering click here DDR and would really appreciate what people have to say on this.

hillybilly 23:56 07 Jul 04

Are you sure it will take DDR memory, I fancy you should be looking for SDRAM. What mobo have you got?

pigseattruffles 00:02 08 Jul 04

havnt got a clue what it is to be honest like i said its not my computer.i gess ill just have to check.all i no is that its pentium2 and ran win98. whats the difference between SDRAM and DDR (sorry im a complete novice)

hillybilly 00:18 08 Jul 04

Okay if its a PII it will be SDRAM, without getting to tech that was what everybody had before DDR. Best thing is open it up see what mobo you have and go to thier website download a copy of the manual. Then you will what type memory you will need and also it will tell you how much it can take

pigseattruffles 00:29 08 Jul 04

okie dokie thanks alot ill check it out and then attempt it :D

Scotsman 00:49 08 Jul 04

Does your Nan have the motherboard manual? If so it will tell you in there what memory modules the MB uses. If it's a Pentium II PC it's most likely to be SDRAM that it will need but if it was a very early PII I suppose it could be the earlier EDO RAM. Basically you need to check the following:

Is it EDO or SD RAM?

What kind of modules do the memory slots take? In particular are they SIMMS (Single Inline Memory Modules) or DIMMS (Dual Inline Memory Modules)

How many pins? As memory has evolved so has the size of the modules and the length of the slots on the MB.

What voltage is needed (most likely 3.3v but you need to be sure)

What frequency is required?

Does it use parity or non-parity RAM?

Is it unbuffered or buffered?