Database type query but need answer in Excel

Mark-335400 12:49 22 May 03

Technically the answer to this problem would be via a database programme such Access, but as I have no knowledge (or time) I am looking at Excel to provide the answer.... I have a large spreadsheet consisting of about 10 columns wide that it is updated daily,,, what I need to be able to do is from within another workbook to have a cell that I can enter a six digit number which will then refer to the original large worksheet and find this same six digit number and then to copy the 9 adjacent column cell contents... any ideas ...Please... thanks in advance

Taran 13:29 22 May 03

Where do you want to copy the data to ?

Will it just be copied to the clipboard for you to manually paste into its destination or will it be dumped into the same destination file each time ?

Mark-335400 14:31 22 May 03

Taran, Thanks for responding, what I want to do is to be able to enter the six digit number in say any cell in column A in for example New Arivals..... it will then "search" workbook "on order" for the matching 6 digit number and then copy or extract the 9 cells on the ajacant right of the row and enter these in New arivals Basically I am trying to eliminate having to retype the information that is recorded in "on order" and entering the details in a seperate workbook called "new arrivals" In fact we have to reinput the same details in upto 5 different workbooks with the information that is contained in the "master" "on order" workbook. If there was a copy/search/extract function that would allow us to type in the six digit reference number that would then look into "on order" and copy the info connected to it within the cells along side it would dramatically reduce duplication and elimate input errors,,,,, Sorry about the waffle but sometimes it can be hard to explain a situation that you regard as the norm to a stranger... Thanks in advance

Mark-335400 16:41 22 May 03

refresh