Custom PC, Media / Value

myphrill 23:17 20 Dec 04

I'm planning on building my own pc come January sales and being a student, i wont have more than £500 to spend so im building my own pc.
I already have 512mb 266MHz DDR-RAM and a GeForce FX5600XT-256MB graphics card.

I need a pc that can perform well with large photoshop files, new games such as Halo, Doom3 etc and one that can store plenty of media files.

AMD Athlon 64bit 3000 seems good to me or will a AMD Athlon XP 3000 do the job just aswell?

Will 266MHz DDR-RAM be fast enough for todays gaming? (I plan to make it 1GB of RAM but will 1GB at 266MHz be fast enough?)

I need some overall advice to reassure me ^_^ thanks.

Steve N 23:40 20 Dec 04

Well for games I'd say ur already shooting urself in the foot with the GeForce FX. I have a 5900 Ultra which I got a year ago and wouldnt want to play any of the latest games on anything slower...But then I like my graphics :D. Doom 3 should run fine with slightly lower settings though.

Def go for 1GB RAM though it makes the world of difference! Faster RAM is obviously better and you may find it to be cheaper than getting new RAM of speed 266.

As far as storage goes it is all very cheap now. Rather than one drive I'd prob recommend two. Then you can have a back of ur stuff on the other one just incase, and put ur page file on a seperate drive to ur OS too. As well as the scratch pad for Photoshop.

Althon 64s are good. Check out a few review sites:

click here
click here

They all have some good reviews and links to some other good sites too.

I am a student and know where ur coming from. But you have a good budget there if you spend it wisely!

myphrill 23:46 20 Dec 04