custom built pcs: what are the pros and cons?

simongy 10:36 18 Aug 03

I am quite new to computers and I was wondering is it better to go to a high street store- like Dixons, comets, pc world etc? Or look at local companies who build to order?
Does anyone live in the Grimsby area who can recommend someone?

keith-236785 10:55 18 Aug 03

The Cons as far as i am concerned are

1. No warranty

2. No one to turn to if it all goes wrong

Everything else is a PRO,

feeling of achievement in building your own system.

getting exactly what you want without all the "free extras".

the ability to upgrade without fear, cos when you have built your own you have done it all anyway.

only installing the software you want. no extras like "Freeserve" etc.

+ you also know Exactly whats in your system. no suprises when you format and cant find the drivers cos the shop didnt supply them.

Good Luck building your own computer, Just dont rush it mate, nice and easy does it.

keith-236785 10:58 18 Aug 03

if you want a pre built system them do a search online for computer shops in your area, or buy Micro Mart (on sale every Thursday £1.60) it has a lot of adverts for pre-built or build to your spec systems.

Yes i did just read your post again and realise i had got it wrong.

oops

HighTower 13:19 18 Aug 03

I would always go for custom built but through a reputable company rather than someone you know at the pub who is good with computers. Check you get a warranty and you should be fine.

Quiller. 14:04 18 Aug 03

Hi

You could try Cram computers at Europa house, modder st. Ashby. Scunthorpe.

click here

I get alot of my bits from there. Although not the cheapest, they are handy. They will build to your specification.

pj123 16:09 18 Aug 03

You could also try here click here

palinka 17:22 18 Aug 03

There's been lots of discussion recently on this.In this forum and in Consumer watch.