CSS problem in IE6

Ben Avery 12:13 03 May 05

It would appear that no matter what I try to do, IE6 makes it difficult to conform! I'm in the trhrows of redesigning my site after buying the rather excellent book "CSS - Designing without tables" by Dan Shafer.

I've pretty much re-layed out the basic page structure and in FireFox it looks fine. However, in IE6, the right hand div> which incorporates the right column seems a little "skew-whiffed" - specifically 1px too far to the left (therefore covering the dashed border) and doesn't match up correctly at the bottom (leaving a few lines "gap" which is rather unsightly!)

My page: click here

The CSS file: click here

I'm only learning the css as I go but can't work this bit out. The site is also linked to a dynamic js file (click here) which redefines the column height so that they all match.

Any thoughts on (a) layout structure and (b) troubleshooting?

P.S. Not all links are yet active!

Ben Avery 15:43 03 May 05

I can 'bypass' the first problem by copying the entire stylesheet to blank new one, renaming it 'ie.css' and simply changing the right <div>'s right position to 10px.

However this makes no logical sense! Surely a 10px page margin + a 1px border = 11px for the right position??? How does IE interpret it as 10px when it manages to correctly render the left <div> which is also 11px???

I'm confused!

PurplePenny 16:01 04 May 05

That is indeed an excellent book. (BTW it took me a while to work out that the illustration on the front was a joke!)

IE has a bug which doubles the margin of floated elements. If that is the problem you can adjust it by sticking in a conditional comment click here (It works: I used it just the other day to over come a similar problem.)

The site is looking really good. I love the through-glass effect of the ivy behind the text pane (very complex-spiral).

(PS Look forward to seeing the wedding photos)

PurplePenny 16:04 04 May 05