CSS problem

dave_the_red 08:08 09 Sep 06

I am totally new to CSS and html but have started to design my own site layout, basically i have this really annoying problem where in IE if i resize the window it messes up my columns and the right column moves to the bottom of the page rather than staying where it should be. It works fine in Firefox though.

Will post the code and would really appreciate some guidance on where i am going wrong.

Thanks

dave_the_red 08:09 09 Sep 06

HTML is below

<html>
<head>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="test.css" type="text/css" media="all">
<title></title>
</head>
<body>

<div id="header"> Header</div>
<div id="navbar">Navbar</div>
<div class="leftcol">Leftcol</div>
<div class="midcol">Midcol</div>
<div class="rightcol">Rightcol</Div>
<div id="footer">Footer</div>
</body>

</html>

dave_the_red 08:10 09 Sep 06

and the CSS

body
{
font-size: small;
font-family: "Times New Roman", Times, serif;
line-height: 180%;
background-color: #e6e6d9;
margin: 0
}

#header
{
text-align: center;
visibility: visible;
height: 10%
}

#navbar
{
background-color: #6b6c5a;
width: 100%
height: 5%
}

.leftcol
{
background-color: #d2d8c7;
text-align: left;
width: 15%;
height: 80%;
float: left
}

.midcol
{
background-color: #a9ae9f;
width: 70%;
}

.rightcol
{
}

#footer
{
width: 100%
height: 5%;
}

harristweed 09:54 09 Sep 06

a couple of suggestions:

1. Make sure you have a closing ';' on every line. The above code is missing some.

2. Alter .rightcol to:
.rightcol
{
width: 14.9%;
float: right;
}
(float changed to right)

3. Alter the width in .leftcol and .rightcol to 14.9% (I.E. is not very good at maths) You may find that it then all works!

Eric10 18:05 09 Sep 06

Changing the width as suggested by harristweed does indeed work for IE but unfortunately it gives the slightest hint of a right margin when viewed in Firefox and a considerable right margin when viewed in Opera.