Critical comment on website please

flick 22:15 14 Dec 06

I would be grateful if forum members would cast a critical eye over our website click here

I was a complete beginner about this time 2 years ago and have learnt a lot from this forum and other sources. I also realise that I still have a lot to learn, hence the request.

FE recommended Net Objects Fusion which I got free from 1&1 and I'm still using it. The photo galleries were built with JAlbum with modifications to meet our particular needs.

We have sold quite a few images - for travel brochures and magazines - but this has been mostly through direct contacts rather than generated from the website, so we see the website as more of a showcase to potential customers of what's available rather than a direct selling tool.

flick 11:19 15 Dec 06

I agree, and it just goes to show that it sometimes needs an independent eye to spot these things. I look forward to receiving any other comments when you have the time.

kinger 16:36 15 Dec 06

What superb photography, nice images.

My only critic would be that the dark background is too dark with light text making it hard to read.

Try a brigher background using the same colour font in your text to make it more comfortable to read.

Purchasing may be easier if you accept payment online with, maybe, multiple choice price brackets depending on useage etc..

Forum Editor 18:31 15 Dec 06

which are quite stunning. We're talking seriously good photography here, there are images which qualify as some of the best wilderness images I've ever seen, and over many years designing websites and corporate print material I've seen thousands. You'll have no difficulty in attracting customers with photographs of such a high standard, but you'll need to consider several factors first. Your primary market will be professional print and web designers, so aim the site at them.