Credit Card

parten 20:49 19 Jan 05

Can anyone tell me where to find info for credit card sales.
My wife and I are starting a cloths shop and I am designing a site with the norm photos, text and sales. I am an intranet designer at work but have no idea on how to go about putting credit card sales and info on. Any advice very welcome.

Thank you
Parten

Taran 21:31 19 Jan 05

Yuo need a third party to handle the payments.

PayPal and NoChex are two that are qute well suited to smaller websites.

'Proper' credit card handling requires quite a lot of money to set up by comparison. You need a special type of merchant bank account, an account with someone like Verisign, sometimes a secure certificate for your web server and all kinds of other things.

I'd start with the PayPal click here and NoChex sites click here for lots of very useful information.

User-312386 23:10 19 Jan 05

I know lots of companies now take the order then give a "ring back service" to take card details

Forum Editor 00:46 20 Jan 05

getting a 'Cardholder Not Present' Internet merchant account is far from easy, and unless you expect a high volume of sales and already have a VISA merchant account (which I assume you don't) it is probably best avoided - at least initially.

Many people don't like the PayPal system because it involves your customers in setting up accounts with PayPal before they (the customers) can use their credit cards. The best advice I can give someone like you is to
click here and look at the Worldpay system. It's widely used, very highly respected, and works perfectly.

Talented Monkey 11:06 20 Jan 05

When you say "setting up a clothes shop" do you mean a physical shop somewhere and wanting a website as part of your business or are you just going to be solely an internet based company? Only it might be easier to incorporate and implement certain features if you already have or wil facilities to take cards in your physical shop.

parten 18:17 20 Jan 05