Creating a web page that will print an A4 letter

MS35 22:24 07 Sep 07

I'm including a button on my website that creates a new web page (a letter) that will contain text that needs to be printed on A4 with the same format (margins, footers etc) on any browser.

I've seen web pages that automatically open a print dialog box as well, when you click the little printer button - click here

Is this easy to achieve?

Ideally i'd also like to remove the standard menu items (except for close!) and disable the option of copying the text.

All help appreciated.

Thanks

p.s hope its ok to include the link.

Eric10 11:02 08 Sep 07

Is this what you mean? click here
This javascript creates a button on the page to be printed that opens the printer dialogue but the button itself does not appear on the printed page.

Eric10 11:04 08 Sep 07

I should have said to use the second example down the page.

MS35 11:33 08 Sep 07

That will be useful, but I'm relatively new to web design and I'm concerned that if I size a web page to look like a letter in my editor it will look different on other browsers. I want the letter to print the same on any A4 printer. Same margins, same line spacing, smae format etc.

Am i worrying unduly, will it all be the same anyway?

Thanks

Eric10 12:16 08 Sep 07

The usual way is to set up a page for displaying on the screen and another one, accessed from a "Printable version" button, which is designed to print out on a printer from a "Print this page" button on that page. You can always set up test pages that you can tweak while you see how it goes.

mco 12:17 08 Sep 07

re your comment about'I'm concerned that if I size a web page to look like a letter in my editor it will look different on other browsers'
Why not download all the browsers you can think of - Firefox/Opera etc as well as IE (and you can have IE 6 and 7) and then you will see in advance what your work will look like on different browsers.

MS35 19:36 08 Sep 07