creating pdf files

Gyppo 19:19 08 Jun 03

I am a very novice user and I need to send an holiday brochure I created in word as an email. It currently takes an age for me to upload it. I was told to create a PDF file and send it that way;sound advise, but how from Windows 98 to the world?!

Wilham 20:00 08 Jun 03

Gyppo, as far as I understand it the software Acrobat is free to read PDF files but to write PDF you need to purchase the sw/licence to be legal.

LastChip 20:09 08 Jun 03

click here and look for Acropad PDF Creator 1.0

Pesala 20:43 08 Jun 03

I may be wrong, but it looks like Acropad PDF will not do for documents containing graphics. PDF Factory click here is £36 shareware and produces compact PDF files. The trial version prints an advertising banner on the bottom of each page.

It is very easy to use, as it is just like printing to a different printer. If your document contains unusual fonts you will need to embed them in the PDF file to ensure that the recipient can read or print the brochure as you intended. If it is just for reading, you can downsample the graphics to 96 dpi, which will reduce the file size dramatically. If you want professional quality prints at that end, uncheck this option.

LastChip 20:55 08 Jun 03

I have to admit, that didn't cross my mind!

I came across this though, I wonder if that would do the job for Free? click here

Agent Smith 21:43 08 Jun 03

PDF Edit from click here and it's free.

Pesala 21:50 08 Jun 03

I'm downloading it now. I hope it is as good as PDF factory. Results can vary from one program to another. The spec looks good.

Pesala 22:32 08 Jun 03

It doesn't handle the fonts properly. The file size is twice that produced by PDF factory. In short, it isn't worth downloading.

Pesala 10:57 09 Jun 03