CPU Upgrade

Mike2002 22:10 10 Mar 07

I'm not very technically PC 'savvy', but am looking for info about upgrading my CPU from a Celeron to a Pentium 3 - hoping it will give my PC a general boost in performance.

The specs of my Celeron are as follows:
Intel Celeron Model 8, Stepping 10
Socket 370
1GHz
100MHz Bus
Cache 128KB

With reference to the Bus, can one go above this figure, and similarly with the Cache.

woodchip 22:20 10 Mar 07

I think you will have problems finding a CPU that old.You need to check Ebay

Mike2002 22:59 10 Mar 07

The CPU was bought with a Gigabyte motherboard in about 2003. Maplin was offering the two as a package deal. Maybe they wanted to shift them (laugh). The motherboard doesn't even have an AGP slot, so that's outdated as well. I need to upgrade both actually.

I've looked on Ebay, but the specifications for Pentium CPUs aren't exactly the same as mine; either the Bus speed is 133Mhz (which I don't think is compatible) or the cache figure is different, so I'm unsure which ones are suitable replacements.

Totally-braindead 23:56 10 Mar 07

Try looking at SIW click here download and run it, it should identify the motherboard. Once you know the make and model of the motherboard you can go to the motherboard manufacturers website and check the CPU support list to see what it can run.
I would like to point out 2 things though. The first is if you do find a faster processor and it needs faster memory then that may add to the cost and as has already been pointed out to you the only chance you have of getting a suitable processor is second hand on Ebay.
Look at the costs before you decide anything. You can get a barebones system for as little as £140 click here of course you need a hard drive and o CDROM as well as needing a valid copy of windows to install on it but looking at something like that might be a better idea.

DrScott 00:08 11 Mar 07