CPU seems strange...any advice????

westdudes 11:07 07 Feb 04

i have a intel p4 hyperthreading 2.8ghzcpu. I use the heatsink and fan that came with the box....i've noticed that since i bought the cpu the temperature of the cpu has slowly increased.

after looking at cpu ive noticed someblack marks on it and on the heatsink....maybe its the black pad thing thats on the heatsink first off melting onto the cpu...but too be honest im no expert in that sort of thing because i have never noticed it before.

is that normal????i've watched people on overclockers.co.uk (their videos when testing cpu's) they use, well, it looks like glue being put on the cpu before thewy put the heatsink on...i'll be honest i've learnt to build computers via resources on the internet so i'm not a big expert so any advice i'd be greatful..

cheers :)

Indigo 1 11:38 07 Feb 04

What sort of temps do you get ?

You did use the thermal compound in between the heatsink and CPU right ?

westdudes 11:56 07 Feb 04

uh oh....me daft,,,,nvr used the thermal compound.....ill get sorted....u can tell im new to this lol...anywayz no desperate damage dun at moment....thanks for that...btw avarage temp 35c

Indigo 1 12:04 07 Feb 04

Also check theres no plastic filmm on heasink or CPU (might be a bit late now if it's melted).

hi there
i don't know a great deal about pentiums (being a cheap ass athlon user) but i would say that you should never use the fans that come with processors cos they tend to be quite rubbish. you could try getting a decent fan, they're only about a tenner or so, coolermaster make some really good ones quite cheap.
also don't use the thermal compund that comes with processors or fans, get some decent stuff. it comes in syringes and only costs a couple of punds from ebuyer or a fiver or so from maplin.
hope it gets sorted!!!!
james

Indigo 1 13:02 07 Feb 04

Yes but anyhting is better than nothing ! right ?

westdudes 18:04 07 Feb 04