Cpu cooling on a P4 2.53Ghz (Socket 478)

SB23 15:29 08 Mar 08

About 2 weeks ago, I had a good clean out of all the dust, and did notice that the fan was a little more noisey that usual.
My system is running a little warmer than it used to, but I've not noticed any major heating issues.

What I would like to know however, is it just the fan that I replace, or the whole unit, including the heat sink?
I ask because it looks as though the fan is only held on by 4 screws on the top, and I just wondered if that was the easier way.
As I've never replaced any fans before, I thought I had better be sure first.

And before I go, I've looked at cpu cooling at a few places, but I'm confused with all the choices.
All suggestions gratefully received.

Thanks

Steve

Totally-braindead 15:38 08 Mar 08

You can do either. If you are a complete novice then just replacing the fan would be simpler.

To replace the heatsink and fan is not that differcult but can be a bit of a pain as you do have to remove all the old thermal paste. A new fan and heatsink unit normally comes with new paste already on it and its just a matter of removing a plastic protection on the heatsink and putting it on the processor making certain its on properly and level.

A fan can be got easily enough at computer fairs and local PC shops. If you are going to replace the heatsink and fan then theres a bewildering choice and some are virtually silent.

Totally-braindead 15:41 08 Mar 08

You want a socket 478 one click here if you have differculty getting a seperate fan then you could just buy a cheap heatsink and fan and nick the fan off that, as long as it fits.

SB23 16:03 08 Mar 08

That was one that I'd seen, thanks.

Mine looks easy to take out, 2 levers, one on either side, then just pull off, I assume? Clean old paste off, apply new paste, then place back on. And you said it would come with all that I need?

skidzy 20:01 08 Mar 08

Just to throw another in click here

SB23 15:36 09 Mar 08