Could dust be the reason for my PC crashing

erkmatrix 13:13 03 Mar 04

Its been happening ever since I downloaded the full windows service pack update but have tryed everything to stop it doing this and still randomly crashes, someone said it could be dust inside, whats the best way to get rid of the dust.

I'm on a only a year old computer and running windows XP Home, could it be lack of RAM, how do I check the RAM, sorry newbie here.

I don't think its over heating as it still crashes sometimes not long after switching it on.

Thought it might be something to do with upadating my graphics card drivers but downloaded the new catalyst from the ATI site for my Radeon 9500 card and it still crashes.

Also could it be my motherboard need updating, how do I find out what motherboard I have to get it updated.

Really appreciate help here

Cheers
Phil

hugh-265156 13:26 03 Mar 04

over time dust builds up and can cause overheating problems.use a can of compressed air to blow away any dust,hover inside your case and use a cotton bud moistened with some isopropanol alcohol to clean fans etc.i do mine once a month,takes half an hour and keeps it squeaky.

im thinking its maybe not dust causing this though.dodgy software is a more likely cause of restarts etc.

have a look in start/control panel/performance and maintenance/administrative tools/event viewer

click the system and application tabs and see if any errors are listed here which may help pinpoint the problem.

hugh-265156 13:27 03 Mar 04

hover = hoover :-)

hugh-265156 13:32 03 Mar 04

ps.

xp is set up to restart when a really bad crash occours.this is not very useful for tracing the problem.

to get a useful error message displayed on the screen instead of a restart click start/control panel/performance and maintenance/system/advanced/start up and recovery/settings untick "automatically restart"