Cost of net connection

norming 21:23 25 Mar 04

I frequently see advertisements for companies who will give you much cheaper phone calls than BT.
I have a BT line and subscribe to Freeserve Home Time (off peak) service. When I get my phone bill I can hardly believe it. Service charges are £65+, calls cost £6.69+. You can therefore see that a reduction in the cost of calls means nothing, but I have to stick with BT SurfTime to be able to use Freeserve. Even then I spend relatively little time on line - apart perhaps from the constant worrying from Microsoft for me to download even more updates.
Is my experience normal or am I unaware of far better deals out there? Cheaper calls are offered yes, but can you also get a net connection?
Norming

Indigo 1 21:32 25 Mar 04

It will cost you about 10 pound a month for a BT line (I think) which should then give you access to the phone and the internet. Broad band prices are from £14.99 for low speed 128K and I pay £19 for 512K. My phone calls are less than £10 per month so I feel I am getting a good service for that.

Are you sure you are only paying for line rental and not other services such as Call Minder, do you have your own phone or is it rented too ?

Gongoozler 21:46 25 Mar 04

The cheap telephone offers are generally for national and international calls and so are not necessarily such a spectacular deal as they at first appear. You need to look at your own situation.

I was on Freeserve Anytime which gave me unlimited Dial-Up access for £14.99 a month. I found that very good for my situation. I took early retirement and so most of my surfing is in the daytime. The only problem I found with Anytime was that I was constantly tying up the telephone line. I am now using Tiscali 150k broadband at £15.99 a month, which for me is much better as it doesn't clash with telephone use. I find the Tiscali service very reliable, but some people have had problems with it.