copyright help

timitm 21:00 03 Jun 04

how do you copy cds that have copyrights on them?

(for personal use)

I think you will find that you can copy CD's for your personal use , but not for making copies for anyone else. I use NERO 6 myself which I find to be excellent. If you are running Windows XP then the onboard recorder is perfectly adequate,but there are loads of other competent copying software about.

VoG II 21:15 03 Jun 04

'Cracks' or copyright infringement - we do not permit the posting of information that will enable other people to use pirated software or to evade the copyright laws. Please do not post serial numbers or CD keys, or links to sites that contain file-sharing software or such information.

timitm 18:33 04 Jun 04

hello sorry about the confusion, I was just asking if anyone has a program that could copy cds quickly with out any trouble, please take into acount that I have a very low budget as I am a student, free would be fantastic thanking you in advance.

€dstowe 18:35 04 Jun 04

Students on low budgets are not above the law.

Kate B 18:38 04 Jun 04

Um, isn't it a little unfair to assume that timitm wants to copy CDs for nefarious purposes? Most of the time everyone in this forum is wonderful: helpful, funny and great to talk to. But I do get fed up with the po-faced lectures about stuff that is and isn't legal. We're all grownups, aware of the copyright issues and sometimes it isn't very helpful merely to lecture.

I recall one thread where someone asked about what horrors they might download with P2P software that sparked a spate of lectures but nobody actually warned the poor poster that he risked all kinds of malware until I and a couple of other folk waded in with some non-judgmental advice.

tasslehoff burrfoot 23:15 04 Jun 04

but I am reliably informed that the "fair use" part of copyright law (the ability to copy a product that you have bought for your own personal use) is american and has no bearing in UK law.