Copying CD's

Gem 10:29 03 Jan 05

Silly question no doubt- I tried to copy a CD for the first time ever today. The CD-R I'm using is supposed to take 700MB/80mins, yet when I record it will only take 5 or 6 songs (about 25mins). Anybody know why this is happening?
Thanks.

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 10:32 03 Jan 05

What burning software are you using Nero?

ACOLYTE 10:33 03 Jan 05

Are you copying MP3?,and are you making a Audio cd or Data cd,Data cd with MP3 wont take as many tracks cos the files are bigger,do a Audio cd and the software should change the Mp3 to .cda and you get more tracks on the cd.Either that or make the Mp3's smaller.

Gem 10:36 03 Jan 05

Okay, thanks for answering so quickly, but I must admit that I have no idea what you are talking about. I am a total beginner at this. I just inserted a music CD into my laptop, copied the songs (Media Player), then tried to copy the songs onto a blank CR-R in the drive. Sorry for sounding so dumb.

ACOLYTE 10:43 03 Jan 05

They must be very big files what you are copying back if you only get 5-6 per cd,i think the problem is you files are to big and need to be made smaller.

Gem 10:47 03 Jan 05

All I can tell you is what I read on the Media Player. In minutes the music is about 44 mins, and the CD-R should take 80. In MB the CD-R should take 700, and the songs are under 2MB each (apart from 1). I realise I am sounding very dumb here, but I hope you stay with me. :o)

ACOLYTE 10:50 03 Jan 05

Well at 2 mb each you should get quite a few on the cd ,how many tracks are there?

billyliv 10:51 03 Jan 05

Hi, If you have Win XP on your laptop try the windows burning program. Cheers, Bill

Gem 10:55 03 Jan 05

To Acolyte - there are 20 tracks on 1 of the CD's and 14 on the other - so I guess I should be able to copy all of them no problem. When you say 'make the files smaller', how do i do this?

T Bill - yes we do have Win XP on the laptop. How do I access the windows burning programm?

Taff36 10:57 03 Jan 05