converting a relational database to a flat one

ernieernie 22:34 01 Mar 07

Is there a (fairly) simple way to combine the two dbf files that make up a relational database into a flat one?
I don't now need all the fields that that are in the database and I want to leave it in a simpler form for my successor.
The only common field is one called IDNO

Woolwell 22:37 01 Mar 07

Run a Query and export to Excel? I assume you are talking about Access database.

ernieernie 12:52 02 Mar 07

Thanks for respnse Woolwell. Actually the database is Lotus Approach. I'll have a look at the manual (gasp!) and see what it says about queries.

ernieernie 20:29 02 Mar 07

The APPROACH manual information on queries just baffled me. I'm a self-taught octogenarian who's a big fish in a little pond (perhaps puddle would be more accurate).
Unless there's another way I shall either have to leave the problem or face doing an awful lot of re-entering as there are over 4,000 entries in the database.
Perhaps that would be a good idea as I would get the chance to delete a lot of rubbish! One advantage about being retired is that you can spare the time to take on a big task like that.
Thanks again Woolwell, you were the only one to respond.

Woolwell 21:12 02 Mar 07

Sorry I cannot help you with Lotus Approach. Haven't even seen it. You should be able to export to a spreadsheet which is a version of a flat database.

fly2hi 02:01 03 Mar 07

You could try this site for links to user groups;
click here

There must still be a way to what you want. In the old days of dos you could use something like Foxbase and with the 'update on' command you would;
add a new field to dbf1 (the one you want to keep)
lets say you call it 'custname'
these names i assume are stored in dbf2 along with the 'idno'
you would then 'replace' all the 'custname' fields in dbf1 with the names from dbf2 using the 'idno' key in both files as the link.
Hope that makes sense.