Considering changing to Linux

kentylad 12:27 13 Jul 04

As a Computer Science student I am inevitably going to and have to use Linux, and as a result of this I have decided to dual boot my Windows XP laptop with Red Hat linux.

Being realtively neew to linux and having only used machines with it pre-installed (i.e. in a laboratory) I am a little sketchy on the install procedures and system compatability.

Having read several reviews of Linux, I have noticed that the System Requirements state a 'Pentium Processor' is needed, and the lab computers I am used to using all have Intel P4's. However my laptop has a Mobile AMD Athlon XP 2000+.

Will Linux work on my system?

Diodorus Siculus 12:30 13 Jul 04

Yes, no problem.

I have Suse running on an Athlon; and had RH on a Celeron.

I think they generally use the name "Pentium" as a generic title for "pentium class processors".

Djohn 12:37 13 Jul 04

I agree with Diodorus Siculus, while I don't have personal experience of doing this I know many people who use the AMD range of CPU's with no problems at all. j.

Valvegrid 12:48 13 Jul 04

I have Xandros installed dual booting with my win 98SE using an HP computer with an AMD processor. I just rebooted the computer with the Xandros disk in and it asked where I wanted to install it, I chose a spare partition I'd prepaired by removing all the junk off of it. It installed in about half an hour. It picked up all my hardware including the Firewire! Which Windows never did, not as if I plan on using it, but Xandros found it.

I don't think I'll be using Windows much now.

click here

Kase 14:51 14 Jul 04

To Valvegrid what was the purchase price please and where did you buy the product. I would like to try Xandros Linux. How does it compare with Madrake 9.2 or say Redhat. I presume that it would dual boot with Windows XPHE?

Kase

Valvegrid 18:05 14 Jul 04

Sorry about the delay in getting back, but work interrupts.