Connection Speeds – Good Bad Indifferent??

GroupFC 15:18 16 Feb 03

I am a newcomer to this computer business, and I have recently acquired my first PC.

I have been visiting this site quite a bit, to try and learn as much as possible as quickly as possible and I apologise if the answer to my query is obvious.

I have a dial- up connection using a v92 modem and I have two ISPs (supanet and tesconet) on a “pay as you go” basis. My connection speeds vary on both from as low as 31.5Kbps up to about 48.0Kbps and average about 44.0Kbps. I have tried the various suggestions posted on this forum to tune the connection. Are these speeds good bad or indifferent?

Also I obviously need to put in some anti-virus, spyware etc. I notice that many on the forum use such as AVG, Spywareblaster and Adaware. How easy are these to use bearing in mind that I am a complete novice and does anybody have any other recommendations? Also how long do these programs take to download and would anybody suggest using a download manager?

All suggestions/comments will be gratefully received.

**nada** 15:36 16 Feb 03

Regarding download managers: even though I no longer use download managers because I have broadband and downloads take hardly any time so I find no use for them any more. But when I had 56k internet I used download accelerator plus (click here) and I found it very useful usually when lost connections occured - you can just resume the download when you re-connect.

-pops- 15:46 16 Feb 03

Download managers aren't what they're cracked up to be and personally, I wouldn't bother. If there is any real difference, it's hardly noticable.

The AVG, Spywareblaster and AdAware should download fairly quickly but I suggest that you do it early (ish) morning when the USA is going to bed and before UK has woken up.

You will also need a firewall. I use Outpost click here but there are plenty of others.