Connecting my new laptop to my pc's internet....

boojwah 09:39 18 Aug 06

I brought a wireless G Router ages ago for my last laptop (apple i book). I didnt use it to connect to the internet in the end as I'm not very technical minded and got very confused.

I have brought a new laptop and I wanted to use the Belkin router to connect my laptop to my home pc's internet.

I am having problems setting up the router on my home pc and also setting up my new laptop to connect to my home computers internet (Wanadoo)
I followed the instrutions but can't seem to do either of them.

My laptop is wireless enabled apparantly.

I believe the router has a modem in it.
We have been using a small modem that wanadoo gave us. It is not dial up internet as such. It's broadband that you have to press the connect button and it connects instantly.
Would it make a difference connecting with a different modem to the one my isp gave me?

I am really unsure of what to do and it's very anoying as I need the internet on my laptop by this evening.

Someone please reply asap as its really anoying me!

FelixTCat 10:12 18 Aug 06

boojwah,

The process is quite straightforward if you follow it logically. The first thing you MUST do is get out the router's instructions and read them. They will tell you the default IP address of the router, whether it has a modem and how to set it up.

The first thing to do is remove the Wanadoo modem from your main pc, then connect the router to the telephone line and to your main pc by ethernet cable.

Power up the router and type its IP address (something like 192.168.1.1) into your browser's address bar. Then use the default username and password (from the instructions) to enter the router's setup pages. Put in the username and password given to you by Wanadoo in the adsl setup page.