Connecting Dell Axim X51v to Internet via Livebox

rjs_01 15:55 28 Dec 05

I have a Wanadoo Livebox at home which I use with my desktop PC. I am trying to get my new X51v on the Internet using it. My Axim sees the network without any problem and I have entered the WEP Key into my handheld but it won't seem to get me online (it just says cannot connect). I'm new to wifi so any advice would be great as far as setting this up goes.

Many thanks

mgmcc 19:38 28 Dec 05

Third-party hardware can be used with the Livebox, but the Livebox needs to be set in "pairing" mode so that the Wireless Network Adapter can be set up to work with it.

Wanadoo's tutorial is at - click here

rjs_01 21:10 28 Dec 05

Thanks. I had a look but was unable to follow the instructions as when I got to the "Change Wanadoo Wireless Network Settings" and am asked to "Select the Wireless Networks tab" I don't have one. I have "General" and "Advanced" but nothing in between. I'm using XP SP2 - any ideas? Thanks again.

mgmcc 21:53 28 Dec 05

That is probably because you have the Wireless Adapter's own software installed which is being used in preference to Windows' own wireless networking software. You should still be able to perform the same tasks with the software you are using.

If you want to enable Windows' own software (and get the additional tab), right click "My Computer" and select Manage. In the window that opens, click the [+] beside "Services and Applications" to expand it and select Services. In the right pane, navigate down to Wireless Zero Configuration, double click it and then click the "Start" button to enable it. If you now select the Properties of the Wireless Network Connection, it should have the middle tab.

rjs_01 18:31 30 Dec 05