Connecting Broadband

tooter 11:53 04 Apr 04

My telephone exchange is converting to Broadband in the next few weeks. I am a complete novice were Broadband is concerned and hope you can answer a few questions which I expect are quite obvious but I would be grateful if you could bear with me and supply me a few answers.
1.Do I have to call BT to connect my telephone line or is it connected automatically when the exchange is converted and I just plug in my Broadband Modem.
2.What happens to my existing Modem, dial up software, settings and ISP. Do I remove these or do I leave them on the computer.
3.What happens to my current email address can I still receive and send mail, or will I be given a new address even If I use the same ISP provider as before.
4.Why is there such a wide variation in prices for Broadband I have seen £15 to £45, is better to go for the more expensive one.
5.Can you recommend a supplier for general home use, which is reliable, economical and secure.
6.Is there a site, which gives you step by step instructions how to convert to Broadband answering some of the more fundamental and not just general questions.
7.Is there anything else I need to consider before installing Broadband.
Thanks very much

gingerfox 12:01 04 Apr 04

every thing was done for me automatically i myself a complete novice didnt know what to do i just got in touch with the supplier and told them i wanted broadband i was told to sit back and wait and dont be scared to ask any question on pc advisor theres alot of people out there helped me and probably saved me money

GANDALF <|:-)> 12:22 04 Apr 04

1) All the paperwork will be done by your chosen ISP..sit back and wait for your modem.

2) You can leave them on the computer but you might as well delete them.

3)You will still be able to receive mail on your addy but it is unlikely that it will be transferred...no harm in asking though. Email the great unwashed when you have your new addy, they will soon get the hang.