Confused! What kind of PSU do I need?

symph 22:36 02 Nov 11

Hi guys,

My PC has stopped working and I'm pretty sure the PSU is the problem, as it's been making weird noises for a while. I'd like to have a go at fixing it myself. It currently has a basic 500W PSU but that doesn't seem to have been very reliable. My PC specs are intel quad core CPU, 8GB RAM, 1GB Nvidia graphics card, 500GB HD, running Windows 7 home premium (sorry I don't have more detailed specs, but I can't boot it to check them at the moment!). I'm not a gamer, but I am a professional graphic artist so my usage is somewhat demanding.

Looking at PSUs online there seems to be a huge variation in price. I see a basic 500W PSU for £8.99 which seems really cheap and I'm not risking that. But then some of them are up to £200! Given the spec of my PC, could someone with more knowledge recommend a PSU to me? Wattage and recomended brand if that makes a difference? I don't mind spending a bit more on something which will improve performance and reliability, but I also don't want to buy something expensive if I don't need to.

Thanks!

Jim

spuds 23:18 02 Nov 11

"its been making weird noises for a while"

That's probably due to the fan or fans not working properly, and the failure of the psu!.

The replacement would need the same fixing holes, so check the measurements before ordering a new unit.

As for the make and model recommendations, someone else might have a few suggestions and link.

LastChip 23:24 02 Nov 11

I have to admit to being a little disillusioned with power supplies.

There was a time when I would insist on something like an Antec which would be pretty much mid range. But in truth, they had a shorter life span than the cheap power supplies fitted by bulk manufacturers.

There is an argument, that more expensive supplies have tighter output tolerances and one should be prepared to pay more for quality.

My findings however, dismiss that as a myth.