Confused between tom tom,sony and garmin sat nav

nklarb1 11:31 10 Aug 06

i am new with the sat navs however need to get one. can someone help me find which of the three is the best to use interms of reception in big city like london.

babybell 12:03 10 Aug 06

You will have no problems with a Tom Tom Sat Nav System in and around London. What I would say is get a Sat Nav system that recieves traffic updates. I have a Navman 330 which i love but it will get me from A to B and that is it. That means if i wanted to go to london at 5pm on a weekday it wouldn't care which way it took me. Some of the higher models of Tom Tom tho will recieve traffic updates and if there is an accident or roads are gridlocked, it will give you a route of A to B but will take you via C, saving you a lot of time and stress. A helper in store at Halfords will happily talk you through the range, just tell him what u need from your Sat Nav

Fellsider 12:48 10 Aug 06

Ihave an iCN520 and find it generally good but...
There's always a but, despite trying all sorts of settings it seems to like going down narrow country lanes for no apparent reason. Also if I divert off the route it will constantly try to get back to the original rather than plot a new route!. I accept that there is a facility to avoid areas but it is not always easy to find somewhere to stop to select an 'avoid area'.

Here's a question. In the case of Sat Navs that receive traffic signals, how do you know that it is taking you on a particular route because of traffic congestion rather than just because it wants to? (you will have some preconceived idea of the route anyway).

babybell 12:58 10 Aug 06