computerizing your home

bracken13 20:01 18 Nov 05

firstly i'm not technical so i'm not asking for great detail or anything, it was just an idea i had.

if i wanted to become 22nd century, or something, and wanted to have my computer control my alarm clock to wake me in the morning and then put the kettle and toaster on, the radio, or telly, open the curtains, all that kind of thing that you see in films, how would i do it?

as i say i'm not asking for technical stuff, just basics like a monitor that has such and such or a processor with xxxx harddrive, that sort of simple thing.

any body got any ideas???

amonra 20:04 18 Nov 05

Very basic, get yourself a willing slave, marry her if necessary, she can do ALL you want !!!

007al 20:16 18 Nov 05

many tv`s,radios,video recorders,dvd recorders have timers in them now have to program it,but you would have to do that if your pc ran would need a kettle etc made with a receiver in it,either by wire or wireless.dont know who would make it.easiest way would be to buy a plug adapter with a timer on it,like the ones you can get to turn the lights on when you`re out

bracken13 11:41 19 Nov 05

thanks, that's a good thought,

i don't mean about getting the wife, i think getting a husband would be more suitable for me!!

keewaa 11:59 19 Nov 05

Richard & Judy had a kettle that was triggered by a mobile phone call, so you could pick up the mobile and dial a kettle whenever you wanted hot water.

A simpler solution would be to buy 3 timer plugs £3 each from argos, fill your kettle and switch it on, put your toast in and press it down .... at 6:30 the switches switch on and in 5 minutes you have toast, hot water and the radio on as you stumble into the kitchen.

chub_tor 12:02 19 Nov 05