COMPUTER MELTDOWN!!!!

pmw14282 15:15 25 Aug 06

Hi,

I am no computer expert by any means, but I think I have been fairly computer competent, up until now that is! My computer is completely ****** at the moment, I seem to have inadvertently crashed it BIGTIME, and I have no idea how to fix the problem. I have a HP PC, thats about 2 years old. The problems all started on Tuesday this week when I received an e-mail from AOL on a free download trial of McAfee virus protection. I currently have Norton Internent Security, but my subscription ran out at the end of last month, and I have been looking to replace it. So I signed up for the offer, and I started to download the McAfee software. It told me that I would need to disable any Firewall software while I was downloading, otherwise it would prevent McAfee from downloading onto my computer properly. So I dod that, and then re-started my machine, which is when all the trouble started. The screen froze, with a message from McAfee saying it had detected a virus. I tried switchng the machine on and off several times but the same problem kept occurring.
I then tried System Restore, but that didn't work. I couldn't get access to it. I then pressed F10 when re-starting my computer to get access to System Restore. When I turned on my computer this message appeared:

"NTLDR IS COMPRESSED.
PRESS CTRL + ALT + DEL TO RESTART"