computer locked by unknown ransomware

ollybolly2 13:20 28 Apr 15

I am in total panic: yesterday what I assume was some sort of ransomware locked my computer. In my panicked rush to restart pc in safe mode, I didn't see exactly what it was. I have Windows 7 and run free Comodo anti-virus. i don't seem to have been able get internet connectivity in safe mode. I downloaded up-to-date Malwarebytes on a laptop and installed it on infected pc.

I had problems running Malwarebytes: first scan revealed, I think, 5 threats but when I tried to remove them the program encountered a problem. It took me about 6 attempts to get it complete without a problem (always at heuristic stage0. When it did, it showed no threats. I am currently scanning with Comodo (not updated since about 18.00 yesterday when I was attacked. Comodo is showing 1 threat at moment but scani s not complete yet.

Help, help, help!!! I'm not tech savvy so please keep suggestions simple for an IT moron! THanking you all in advance for any help.

bumpkin 13:24 28 Apr 15

some sort of ransomware locked my computer

What is it showing, I would expect some sort of message on the screen if it is ransomware.

ollybolly2 13:41 28 Apr 15

sorry for delayed reply, bumpkin, laptop acting up and very slow. Like, I said, rebooted pc in safe mode too quickly to see what it was. No screen message in safe mode

ollybolly2 13:55 28 Apr 15

Jock1e, thanks. Can't do that until comodo scan complete. While I didn't catch which ransomware it was, I did notice something along the lines 'YOUR COMPUTER HAS BEEN LOCKED', can't be any more precise but it seemed designed to scare the living daylights out of victims, so I'd b e very surprised if it's Microsoft's fault - incidentally, have never had that problem.

mole1944 14:27 28 Apr 15