Computer fuse keeps blowing

SimpleStevie 12:07 25 May 03

I have a fairly old computer, 5 yrs+, 450mhz processor etc etc. Over the past few days the fuse in the plug seems to blow every 24hrs. I'm no computer expert but that isn't right and I know something is up, any idea what could be causing it? Or is it that the computer is just too old and has finally decided to pack it in?
Cheers

-pops- 12:49 25 May 03

I would guess that there is something drastically wrong with your power supply unit.

I suggest you DO NOT continue to use it in this state.

Get it looked at without delay.

You might consider getting something a bit mode up-to-date;-))

Brian

-pops- 12:50 25 May 03

mode = more

justme 13:55 25 May 03

I agree with -pops- above, when a fuse keeps blowing there is obviously something seriously wrong.

Having said that, have you tried changing the power supply cable to the computer? Flexible cables are particularly prone to damage from repeated flexing of the cable which damages the insulation between the wires inside the cable. The power cable is usually a standard cable as used for all sorts of computer equipment such as printers etc.

If doing this solves the problem then throw the old one away as it is dangerous to continue to use it. On the other hand, if the problem persists then, as -pops- suggested, it is probably your power supply unit in the computer
which is causing the problem.

Until you are sure that the problem has been cured do not leave your computer plugged in unattended as it could possibly cause a fire.

Dr. Charles 14:03 25 May 03