Compressing/condensing uploads

ella33 00:12 08 May 10

I am completely new to the world of digital photography and wish to share my pictures and videos, however they are taking hours to upload and some people find they can't download them. I am told that condensing or compressing is an easy answer. However, I have asked Google but there are more solutions than cold cures and I don't really know where to start. I have tried loading videos to photobucket and You Tube but this takes hours. I can upload photos to photobucket but I believe it would be easier to send them condensed. Any ideas videos and photos please?

mooly 07:34 08 May 10

I'm no expert on photography etc and there will be far more complete answers than this, but yes you need to compress.

First thing to remember... don't alter or compress the original pictures "on the memory card" if you intend keeping them or using them for making high quality prints from. If you do the original quality is lost and the camera also won't recognise the picture anymore.
Move the picture/s across to your PC (drag and drop or right click and "send to"). You then have a picture to play around with leaving the original intact. If you want to archive and keep pictures AND compress as well to email, then when you have moved them to your PC simply make a copy that you can then edit etc.

Compressing pictures... if you hover your cursor over a picture or open it it will say somewhere the file size eg 3.5mb. That's to big for normal email, you want around 80 to 200kb for each picture. That keeps reasonable detail.

If you have "Paint" installed on your PC... which come as standard with Windows Vista (I'm guessing same with W7 too) then right click a picture, move to "open with" and paint should appear. A big image of the picture will open.