Compressing personal photos/videos

ella33 11:57 08 May 10

I have already asked this in Beginners but hope it is ok to post it here as well. I have had an answer but it seemed to resize photos rather than compress.

I am new to digital photography and wish to share my photos and videos. However they are taking hours to upload to photobucket or You Tube. I am told that condensing or compressing is an easy answer. I have tried Google but there are more solutions than cold cures and I don't really know where to start. I can upload photos easily to photobucket but I believe it would be easier to email them to people condensed. Any ideas of how to do this ? videos and photos please. Or what product do I need to download/purchase?

Jameslayer 12:33 08 May 10

click here

Its got a link on zipping files also several links to zip people. Its a microsoft guide. You should only have 1 threwad though.

muddypaws 13:35 08 May 10

Have you tried Picasa?
click here

You can create a free web album account from there.
I have over a hundred albums there and uploading is pretty quick.
I have to say though that PB displays videos in higher quality.

muddypaws 13:47 08 May 10

Just done a upload test and 14 x 3.5 mbs photos took 3.75 minutes. Could be your line upload speed is slowing things down.

There is also this which I use sometimes. It works automatically.
click here

ella33 22:27 08 May 10

Thanks for the suggestions, I will try those and get back to you. I do think that several hours is rather long for a ten min video upload, so there must be a solution somewhere. I wonder if using a dongle internet browser is part of the problem.

woodchip 22:45 08 May 10

If you are sending by BB you need as, as been said resize them. Even Video can be made to run with smaller screen

ella33 08:14 09 May 10