Complete beginner ...DVD Writer queries!

stupid grinner 13:18 12 Jun 06

Hi all. I'm new to the forum and a computer idiot, so please excuse these basic questions.
I am buying a new PC Desktop set up and need to include a DVD Burner. I have read some of your previous posts and just want to ask the following...

The DVD burner will be used to store video clips from my Digital camera to disc, is it worth buying a 16x burner, as most people seem to suggest burning at 8 or 4x's to increase reliability.

Could you give me an idea of burning time, with appropriate software of say 1hrs high quality video at 4 and 8x's, as I don't have a clue how long it will take!

Is NERO generally accepted as the best software to install? Does this software include video editing facilities etc?

Is it true that a DVD Writer is not as efficient as a cd writer for burning cd's?

What is coasting???

I may store SOME video on the hard drive, lets say 200 hrs of video, what sort of hard drive size would cope and what processor and ram size would be appropriate.
GAMING is not important, purely for playing back video.

What spec graphics card would be required?

Hope someone can advise me.
Sorry about the basic questions!
Stupid grinner

spuds 13:33 12 Jun 06

You might find this website interesting click here

Coasters (coasting) = Scrap disks, which can result from bad setting up, to poor quality materials.

stlucia 15:13 12 Jun 06

Spuds has recommended a site that will answer your queries about DVDs.