Comp TIA A+

mags65 16:27 14 Dec 05

Probably wrong place to be asking this but just wanted to know what anyone who has done this course, thinks of it. I am considering the course on a learn and home basis through a college not too far from me. It would cost around £1500 and can be paid in installments. Is this good value.

Rose 16:49 14 Dec 05

The short answer is NO. I did the A+ course in a local college attending one day a week for FREE. You do of course have to pay to take the two exams. Also bear in mind you will need a book, or books in my case. A good A+ course book costs in the region of £50.00. At the end of the day the course doesn't really qualify you for anything in particular. It gives a good grounding but you will need something better if you want to apply for a job in the IT industry. If you're already building your own machines and repairing the neighbours don't bother with this. Aim for something higher.

Skills 18:25 14 Dec 05

Im studying this course at present at my local college and with discounts its cost me £100 normal price £400 including the exam fees. In my opinion its not worth £1500 under any circumstances.

It covers all the basic aspects of hardware, installion, configuration some trouble shooting. It does cover some quite outdated hardware thou and the course is due for a revision next year so newer stuff like PCI E, SATA and the like should be in there. Its also nearly all based around intel and MS software.

If you want to do a course that covers all the basic hardware stuff and basic operating system stuff like installation and config then it may be worth doing but I would look somewhere else as I said its not worth £1500 at all.

You can self study for the course if you wish and just pay for the exams.

I have to also second that it wont get you a job in the IT world on its own.

mags65 18:23 15 Dec 05