COMMENTS PLEASE.....

JAC13 23:24 29 Feb 08

Firstly, I would like to say a big Thankyou to all the people who have answered my previous posts and helped me out with various problems and questions. You really are a great bunch! Being a total novice at web design and knowing nothing about HTML (at the moment) I would like your comments on my web site.

I am very pleased with the finished product, I say 'finished' but no doubt I will play about a bit more yet!

The site is click here

C&C Welcome!!

Jac.

MAJ 23:58 29 Feb 08

I don't like the faded images in the background, JAC13, it just doesn't look right with those there.

MAJ 00:01 01 Mar 08

Scrolling tickers are another pet hate, I would stay on the site for about as long as it takes to click off it. Sorry, JAC13, just being honest, not malicious.

Kemistri 00:09 01 Mar 08

It's not very easy on the eye, it's not a neat layout and it looks unfinished. You have some lines that end short of their apparent target, odd gaps and tight spots (I recommend that you read about whitespace click here), and the text on the graphics is fuzzy. The gap above the banner isn't really right, and this is probably caused by the default margin in the body. The footer is too narrow, so it fails to meet the sidebars properly, and the link bar above it is not centred.

I know that's all negative stuff, but you did ask for C&C. Hope it helps.

Forum Editor 08:59 01 Mar 08

is that there's too much going on - image sites should be very clean, allowing the really important content - the images - to shine through.

The first thing I would do is stop all movement - those text scrollers on the home page would be the first things to go; they are incredibly distracting.

Text across image backgrounds is always a difficult thing to get right, and unfortunately your site doesn't manage it - it's confusing and difficult to read.