Comm Port error codes

This is my first time so I'm feeling my way!
I have downloaded update software to my PC to be transferred by null serial cable to my Humax PVR (Digital TV HDD Recorder). I run into trouble after everything is connected and attempt the transfer. The pc displays a list of 4 comm ports but whichever one I choose is blocked by an error code of either 2 or 5. Where can I find an explanation of these codes?

According to my hardware setup I only have one comm port and I only have one physical serial port on the back of my desktop case. Any help will be appreciated.

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 18:35 11 May 07

Code 2
Depending on which device is failing, you may see either of two different messages. This code means that the device loader (DevLoader) did not load a device. When this device is a Root Bus DevLoader (for example, ISAPNP, PCI, or BIOS), the following message is displayed

Windows could not load the driver for this device because the computer is reporting two <type> bus types. (Code 2)

Contact your computer manufacturer to get an updated BIOS for your computer.

Where <type> is ISAPNP, PCI, BIOS, EISA, or ACPI.

Solution button: None
When the device is not a root bus DevLoader, the following message is displayed

The <type> device loader(s) for this device could not load the device driver. (Code 2)

To fix this, click Update Driver to update the device driver.

Where <type> is the DevLoader such as FLOP, ESDI, SCSI, and so on.

Solution button: Update Driver
In addition to following the recommended solution, try removing the device from Device Manager, and then running the Add New Hardware wizard.

Code 5

The driver for this device requested a resource that Windows does not know how to handle. (Code 5)

To fix this, click Update Driver to update the driver for this device.

Solution button: Update Driver