.Com .co.uk Nominet - Changing web host

AFoxyLady 16:31 08 Aug 06

I approached a local company in July of last year with the intenion of them bulding a fully working e-commerce web site.

The purchased the .co.uk domain name for us in July, and I have the nominet certificate. I knw they must also have purchased the .com, as we either of our urls will work.

After numerous mails, and now on our second "Rebuild", and having paid half of the price, we still do not have a web site that we are happy with. We wish to change to another company, who have started to mock up a new site for us already using flash. (We have since decided that we do not need the e-commerce, and will use he web site purely as an online brochure)

My question is...
How can I find out how they to move the .com when I have no paperwork.

Nominet have been very helpful and we can change to another company as long as they have the tag or key.

I am an expert in my own field, but am floundering here now, and need some real sensible help and advise. We need the domain name, but to be honest, I can see nothing but trouble ahead.

Any help and advice on how to proceed would be very gratefully received.

AFoxyLady 19:59 08 Aug 06

Hi John,

Thanks for your reply, not sure if it might be more diplomatic for me to mail you direct with the url name.

The company hosting it is the same company that has/is designed it, and they are hosting both the .com and the .co.uk

I suppose it has been the total lack of guidance on their part. We asked them to design the site as we knew nothing about web designing. I understand that HTML is a long winded code, and maybe it might have been better for them to mock up a site with a few products rather than work on all the products and then come back to us. The site (s) we have now are bland. The existing site was not that easy to use, and the new test site as no prescence at all. Like looking at a plate of boiled plaice mashed potatoe and cauliflower!