CMOS Battery

Technotiger 15:46 03 May 09

Hi, have just been given an old Compaq Presario 1260 lappie - I know, very old! I have no experience with laptops as such, question is, How does one access the CMOS battery for replacement purposes.

It has Win98, but will not complete Boot-up due to Real Time clock error 0270. Just a bit of fun really, but I would like to try and get it working if possible.

TIA for any help or suggestions.

Sea Urchin 16:05 03 May 09

It should look like the CMOS battery in a PC

click here

Here is a maintenance manual for the Presario 1600 series - hope it might help you

click here

Technotiger 16:20 03 May 09

Thanks for the links, I know what the battery looks like, but thanks anyway - what I need is the manual for the 1200 Series (1260), I have looked at the 1600 Series you linked to, but it is rather different to the actual 1260.

Sea Urchin 16:32 03 May 09

Here is a download for the 1200 series

click here

I'll go back to sleep now :@)

Technotiger 17:12 03 May 09

Apologies not necessary - I have downloaded the 1200 Manual from your link, but my PDF Reader (PDF Converter Pro) cannot read it!

I will try again later. Thanks.

Dinner time!

Sea Urchin 17:24 03 May 09

Curiouser and curiouser, said Sea Urchin :@)

Although the site says it's a .pdf file it is actually a .rar file

I used 7zip to unpack it, and now it IS a .pdf file. Hope it helps.

Enjoy your dinner.

Technotiger 17:39 03 May 09

Just used 7Zip - Presario file now saved as PDF.

Thanks again, will peruse after my din-dins.

Technotiger 20:34 03 May 09

After reading through the whole manual, I finally found the RTC (CMOS) battery location on the motherboard - at page 91 of 95!