Clicked on the Canon Popup.

pj123 14:09 24 Dec 05

I clicked on the Canon Popup and was offered a chance to get a photo print of my choice.

I uploaded a digital print and got a print back today. It was printed on the Canon Pixma MP170 MFD.

Although, being a professional photographer, I thought it was a bit too yellow and too light but nevertheless quite impressed. I have 2 Epson printers an 895 and an R200. My 895 is now looking to be retired and I have a Canon standalone copier but it only copies in BW.

For around £80 the Pixma MP170 click here looks like a good replacement to me. Can't find any compatible ink prices yet but maybe because this is a new printer.

fullyfitted 18:08 24 Dec 05

Hi pj123,

I don't know the Canon Pixma MP170 MFD. but I bought a Pixma 4000 from Comet for about £80. I've had it for about 4 month and so far I've been very impressed.

However this is a replacement for a five year old Epson which gave sterling service but alas eventually old age caught up with it so I guess anything a bit younger would be an improvement.

Suggest you get on to Choice stationery and suggest they source the cartridges you need, they are always looking for new products

FF

bluto1 21:36 24 Dec 05

pj123,
fullyfitted`s advice re Choice is sound. give it a go. A very happy Christmas and a great New Year

wilco33 10:08 25 Dec 05

I clicked on the Canon link too..in order to close it & was instantly booted out of PCA website & also my browser (avant)& found myself staring at my blank desktop!!Disabled flash animations in browser & that did the trick...LOL.

pj123 14:30 25 Dec 05

bluto1, agree. fullyfitted, I talk to Paul Andrews (MD of Choice Stationery) quite often.

He advises me that it takes at least 6 months from when a new printer is released to when his company can get compatible cartridges out. It can take longer due to copyright/patent issues.