clarifying "save" vs "run"

  pollpott 10:37 01 Dec 05
Locked

when downloading an update I had the choice between save/run. I chose run but after it finished I could see no sign of it anywhere. I know that if you choose save you get the option to put the file where you want but what do you do after run?

  Devil Fish 10:44 01 Dec 05

if you run a program from its location you are automaticaly installing it

so in the case of the update it should be installed to the prog its meant for


personnaly i prefer save to disk as you can then scan for viruses before installing

  pollpott 10:50 01 Dec 05

I see, thanks for the prompt reply....pollpott

  ade.h 18:04 01 Dec 05

Selecting Run will download the files to a temporary folder, which then ceases to be readily available once it's not needed anymore. Windows usually gets rid of it at some point of its choosing though they sometimes hang about somewhere. The location for this folder may or may not be the temp folder in Documents and Settings. This will be hidden by default and its contents are of course very changeable! Never expect to be able to find those files afterwards!

  007al 19:00 01 Dec 05

it doesnt have to be saved to disk to be scanned.
you just save it,right click it and opt scan with(whatever your av is)

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

Surface Pro (2017) vs Surface Pro 4

Where HTML5 is headed next

MacBook Pro v Surface Pro 5