Choosing a Digital Camera <£175

Rodders 21:13 27 Jul 03

I am considering buying a digital camera and have set myself a budget of around £175. I'm not a keen photgrapher as such, but I want to keep photos of my kids as they grow up. I also want to use it for my work, I'm a driving instructor and I want to take pictures of some road situations. If I can do short video that would be good also. Another use for the camera would be to take photos of my band, so if there are any features of the camera that might make the images cooler then that would be a bonus, such as variable exposure or filters.

At this moment I quite like the sound of the HP PhotoSmart 720. click here

Has anyone got any views on this camera, or suggest alternatives? Should I avoid certain brands, or what memory type is best?

Thanks, Richard

Dark Knight 21:39 27 Jul 03

Look here for some good impartial reviews
click here

I have access to two Fuji Cameras (2600 + 2800Z) both of which take superb quality pictures. My camera is the 2800Z - A little bulky to put in your pocket due to the 6x optical zoom but it does take short movie clips with sound. May be a little outdated now but my point is Fuji cameras are good. Uses smart media which if was buying a camera now would tend away from.

Bought my camera from these people click here
Very impressed with service and delivery. Use there comparisson table click here It may give you more indication as to what features different cameras offer. THe second camera came from Morgan. Not the best for range of produce but if they have what you want they are likely to be cheaper. click here

Have also used an expensive 6 or 7Mpixel camera from Olympus. As of yet the images I have taken are of a lower quality than the Fujis.

TommyRed 21:41 27 Jul 03