children and playing web based games

Boy Zone 10:33 23 Aug 08

Can anyone please advise me, I'm trying to identify some free s/w which I can download to prevent my niece's son from playing a game called 'Room Scape'. I did try to download a program called 'K9' but this seemed to prevent the PC from starting up.
SHe wants to have parential control over some sites her son visits.
Other than taking away the keyboard these kids play this game all through the night, OK so he the boy in question is 14 but it's had an effect on his behaviour.

rob3600 11:05 23 Aug 08

I'm no expert on this matter, but my son is the IT wizzard of the family now and even at 14 despite the fact we had prental controls on the internet he was still able to bypass these. So other that taking full control over the modem/router i.e turning it off of disconnecting it at night the young man may still find a way to play these games. My boy is now 17 and still playing on the internet all night until the early hours, hoping college will start again soon so that he can at least get back to a somewhat normal sleeping pattern. - Good luck I am sure you may be in for a bumpy ride :-)

Pineman100 12:44 23 Aug 08

Boy Zone - as rob3600 has said, it all depends on how computer-savvy your niece's son is. If he's a typical 14-yr-old computer wizard, it may be almost impossible to use software to prevent him from using the computer, or to control the sites he visits.

However, see whether this article is any help: click here

Personally, I reckon your keyboard/mouse confiscation technique is probably the most reliable route to go.

technique 13:10 23 Aug 08

If it's a shared computer - your niece's and her son share the same PC, then assuming the owner is the neice then she can edit her son's Account in Windows and create or edit a password for him to access the computer.

If he knows the password already, then she can change it and not tell him.