Changing Text with mouse

Boy Zone 14:32 10 Nov 03

Hi to all,
Im very new to web design. I'm trying to use Dreamweaver MX.
What I want to do is, create text and when the mouse goes over the text it changes colour, as in a navigation bar.
Would appreciate your help.
Then do I put the text into layers or frames, which is the best, or some other way?

Talented Monkey 17:03 10 Nov 03

Best way to do this is to use CSS cascading style sheets. This isn’t as difficult as it sounds. I haven’t used dreamweaver or front page etc, so can not comment on its use within them, but I am sure someone said there is a style sheet option.

click here and take a look

This is a good example of CSS to change your link and mouse over style. It shouldn’t be too hard to work out what is going on, and can be easiliy changed to create totaly different effects, you can even create 3d buttons which can appear to light up or depress when moused over using this.

Essentially you have all these values saved in a separate text file say style.css and have it linked to it in the <head> part of the HTML code.
<link type="text/css" rel="stylesheet" href="/style/style.css">

then when you want to have some text or other entity such as a table to take on the appearance you simple specify it as <a class=”mainnav” href etc…> where class=” the name you require.

Of course you can have a “defult “ setting by omitting the class name: eg. For <h1> tag

Background : #fffff0;
Color : #663300;

now you can just specify <h1>some text</h1> without having to call a class.

Ithink I will stop here or I will turn this into a lecture and i think you get the idea. I would recommend that people do try to use CSS as its far much quicker and efficient way to create menus and other layout tags. Also alot of the style elements are being made obselete, such as font=" " and bgcolor=" " etc. you normally put within a tag. eg <b color="red">