Changing pc, what do i need to do!

gazmix 20:07 07 Nov 07

Hi
I'm changing pc, i need to backup my Outlook Express inbox & i think i have backed up my documents on my usb stick. Can i do the same with OE inbox mails!

The pc i'm getting has no programmes on it, so how can i go online to download a firewall & other stuff without being vulnerable!

Do i need to contact Orange(my isp) for them to help me set up my accounts for internet & mail?.

Also what do i need extra, like java etc that being a novice i wouldn't normaly download!
I'll download Spybot, Adaware, AVG, CCleaner, Foxit, but whatabout other stuff in background like java etc!

I have Windows live messenger, 8.1 i think, but how do i know which it is!
Same with my Windows Media Player, i use Media player classic!, can i still download these! & how do i find out which versions i have for sure!
And how to get everything in synch!!

Cheers Gaz

woodchip 20:10 07 Nov 07

Have a look at menu in Outlook Express You should be able to Export to File. You can then copy to a disc or flash drive

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 20:30 07 Nov 07

The pc i'm getting has no programmes on it

Does it have windows?
Start - Programs - accessories -system tools - file and settings transfer wizard.

will copy all yor favourites - emails - address booke my documents to a medium of your choice (UB stick)
rund again on the new Pc to load them all in.

Avast4 click here
AVG antivirus click here

Anti Spyware :-
Adaware click here
Spybot S&D click here
Spywareblaster click here
Spycatcher express click here
a2 click here
Windows Defender click here
AVG Antispware click here
Superantispyware click here

Firewalls :-
Comodo Personal Firewall 2.0 click here
Filesclab click here
Jetico click here
Kerio4 click here
Netveda click here
Nrt firewall 2.0.1 click here
Outpost free click here
R-firewall click here
Securepoint click here
Softperfect click here
Sygate click here
Wyvernworks click here
ZoneAlarm click here

gazmix 23:44 07 Nov 07

Woodchip