changing page name in address bar

mco 14:36 31 Dec 03

hi - I'm a novice website designer working from a Lycos starter package template (so no real technical knowlege) Please don't laugh if this is a stupid question. There's an edit facility to change the names of the pages on my site from the lycos default suggestions to whatever I want. BUT - they still say the same on the address bar and I can't work out how to change them there - what am I doing wrong or not doing?

Forum Editor 17:06 31 Dec 03

with the Lycos system, or with the software you're using, so I have one hand tied behind my back on this.

Page urls won't change in the browser which is what I think you mean) until the filenames are changed on the server. That means you have to change the name of the page files you upload to the Lycos website. It's the bit after the last forward slash that's important for this exercise.

For instance:

If one of your pages is called: h t t p// w w w. /lycos users.co.uk/your name/about me.html

(I've inserted spaces to stop our site code turning my example into a 'click here' link)

and you want to retitle it to: all the same as before/moreaboutme.html you must alter it in the software and then upload the changed page file to the server. Then you'll see the new address in the title bar of your browser.

Does that make any sense at all?

Taran 17:14 31 Dec 03

The address bar reflects the file name of the page, which is different to the page title.

For example, most sites have their first page file called index.htm or index.html but the page title could be "PC Advisor - Expert Advice you can trust" which is displayed in the top blue bar of your browser above the File, Edit, View menus.

Filenames and page titles may differ, but changing a filename is no small thing and I'd be careful if I were you. Most templates consist of several pre-prepared pages that you put some text and images into.

Say your template has the following three pages: